Skin Care Routine Series 2015: Basic and Rules (Part 1)

Hello there!!

Welcome to my 1ST EVER BLOG POST!!!! *Ahhhhh!!!!* I am so excited and nervous about this. I have all these different kind of emotion butterflies in my stomach these past few days that I did not know how I survive through it. Does that make sense to you? Let me know in the comment box if you experience the same thing! Even if it does not make sense let’s just pretend it does. Okay! That is enough rambling let’s get started!

For my 1st blog post topic I decided to talk about something that I have the most knowledge of which SKIN CARE! Like what the title says I am going to do a skin care routine series.

You might find it weird that I am doing a series on routines as other people usually just have 2 routines. (Morning and Night) The reason is I do not have a particular fixed routine that I do every single day. It changes depending on my skin condition` environment and needs on that particular day; and new products. It is hard to give you a proper structured skin care routine. That is why I have many different kinds of routines.

For this series part 1, I will talk about my

  • My Skin Type, Concerns and Goals
  • Skin Care Rules that I live by
  • Disclaimer
  • Most Ultimate Basic Routine

My Skin Type, Concerns and Goals

Skin type:
  • Sensitive Dry Skin
  • Prone to hormonal and stress acne
  • Prone to hyperpigmentation
Concerns:
  • Dehydration
  • Dullness
  • Acne (It stays for quite some time)
  • Hyperpigmentation
  • Discoloration
Goals:
  • Improve my skin condition to the healthiest state.
  • Decrease the amount of money I spent on 1 skin care product.

 

Skin Care Rules that I live by

  • Always cleanse and moisturize your skin no matter what kind of situation.
  • Must always use Clarisonic before you put on any sort of mask.
  • Use Clarisonic only on alternate days
  • Never leave makeup on your skin overnight.
  • Any type of Vitamin A serums (Retinoid, Retin-A, Tretinoin) and Acids serums (AHAs and BHAs) should not be put into the same routine.
  • Every routine must focus on something.
  • Only use 1 cotton pad per routine. (Not included the ones used for cleaning)
  • Neck is part of the face.
  • After putting on a product, must always tap it into the skin.

These are the rules that I currently remember. I might be missing out some rules as I drill them into my head every day that I follow them without knowing. Please forgive me on this. I will update again when I remember or realize them!

Disclaimer

All the products that you see in this series are either paid with my own money or were given to me as a present. None of them are sponsored.

Most Ultimate Basic Routine

This is good for people who are new to skin care or just want to maintain their skin condition.

I do this routine when my skin is in a good condition and does not need anything special which is rarely the case (I wish every day my skin behaves!) I would also do this routine when I want to decrease the amount products I put on my face that day. As either I went overboard the night before or have been introducing too much new products to my face.

I would not be going into such a great depth on the products details on why I bought them and so on. If not, this would be a really long blog post. If you want me to have a blog post certain things, request at the comment box! I would try to fulfill them or you could simply ask your questions at the comment box! If you cannot find it you can click the ‘leave a comment’ button at the top.

STEP 0: EYE MAKEUP REMOVER and CLEANSING OIL

The reason this is Step 0 is that I do not put makeup on a daily basis due to my job. I would only do this step when I am wearing makeup that day. I know I know…. I could use a cleansing oil or balm to remove eye makeup but I realize it does not really clean off all the eye makeup. Not only that, it does not make my eye all blurry when the oil enters into my eye.

Botanics Soothing Eye Makeup Remover ALL BRIGHT

Botanics Eye Makeup Remover

This is a bi-phrase product that is fragrance free and has no parabens in it. I would shake it up, apply it on a cotton pad and hold it for a few seconds.

This is where I share my secret tip on how to remove your mascara much easier and gentler before you start screaming and staring at your lash that is on the cotton pad. When you place your cotton wool above your eye lids, make sure your bottom part of your top lashes (The bottom part meaning the area where you apply your mascara) are directly touching the cotton pad. After wiping it away, wrap the same cotton pad around your index finger. Pretend your index is the mascara wand and brush your eye lashes with it. The reason is that when you apply mascara, most of the product would be at the bottom part of the top lashes and not the top of the top lashes. This would prevent pulling or losing your eye lashes. It takes might take longer time but if it could clean better and prevent loosing of any lashes,why not?

Etude House Real Art Cleansing Oil

Etude House Real Art Cleaning Oil

(Please don’t mind the packaging. I have no idea how it come like this. I did not bring or travel with it around. It just became like this.)

I found this product through the Korean TV series called Get It Beauty. It’s a famous TV show talking about everything related to beauty. There is a part in the show where they do blind test on product; give rating and reviews on it. Not just the judges or host but also the audiences and professionals which is amazing! Some of you might know this show and know what I am talking about. If you have not watched this show yet, go and watch it! You would fall in love with it just like I did. This product was either the top or the top few of the blind test. Once I tried this, I knew why they rate it high. It really cleanses your face really well. Does not dry out your skin (which is a must for me) or leave any sort of residue. Plus, it is affordable and inexperience unlike Shu Uemera. Don’t get me wrong. I love their cleaning oil but the price is not so nice.

STEP 1: MIRACLE WATER

I would not do this step if I am doing step 0.

Bioderma make-up removing micelle solution Sensitive skin

Bioderm Makeup Remover

All of you would hear of this product by now. This is a fragrance free product. I would use this almost every single day when I am not wearing makeup that day to remove my sunblock. Most people do not realize that you would need to use a makeup remover to thoroughly remove sunblock. If you have used a makeup remover before this step, you can just skip this step.

STEP 2: GENTLE and LOW PH CLEANSER

Since last year when I found out how high pH cleanser affects my skin. I decided to use cleansers that are pH7.5 and below. The lower it is` the happier my skin gets. Try to change your cleansers to a lower pH. You see the huge difference and you wouldn’t turn back again. No matter what kind of skin type you are. Trust me on this.

Paula’s Choice Resist Optimal Results Hydrating Cleanser

Paula's Choice Optimal Result Hydrating Cleanser

Like what the name of this cleanser is called, it is very hydrating. It does not strip or dry your skin out; and irritated your skin which is like the worst part ever. If you are looking for a good hydrating cleanser, this would be good choice for you.

STEP 3: TONER

Most people tend to neglect this step or feel that this step does not do anything. However, it is an important step. It is to prepare your skin for all the wonderful products that you will be putting on later. It is like something like your primer in your makeup routine. There are different types of toner out there that helps you with different things. However, all toner should balance your skin back to neutral or below (pH 7 and below).

Pixi Glow Tonic with Aloe Vera & Ginseng

Pixi Glow Tonic

This is a great gentle glycolic acid (AHA) based toner which is good for those who are new to AHA or people who are sensitive to AHAs. This is good way in introducing AHA into your routine without all the skin flaking or peeling when you use an AHA serum on a daily basis. There is no tingling sensation and feels like a normal toner. This toner really helps me to give extra cleaning and exfoliating to my face.

Diluted Tea Tree Oil Spray (DIY)

DIY Tea Tree Water

Note: I am just using an empty spray bottle I have. It is not LUSH Tea Tree Water.

I don’t use this just for toner. I also sometimes use this as facial mist when I am having a breakout. As a toner, I would simply spray onto my face and tap it into my skin. I would do this when I have no time or lazy to do a full routine. (I have my lazy days okay…. I bet you have done it too! Haha!! ) The ingredients of this toner are witch hazel, rose water and of course tea tree oil.

STEP 4: ESSENCE

Not many people know that this step gives you hydration and that it is not the moisturizer that gives your hydration. There are different types of essence these days that gives you so many different types of benefits. In general, they are good at giving nutrients and hydration into the skin.

Innisfree Soybean Energy Essence (Light)

Innisfree Soybean Essence

I found this essence when I was finding a dupe for SK-II Essence. This product is really light, non-sticky and absorb into your skin really fast! It really makes my skin whiten and make my skin texture much smoother after using it for a while. I would pour this onto my hand and apply to my face. I feel putting on the a cotton pad is such a waste of product. It is perfect of humid weathers. Also it is good for people who have oily skin as this essence its more on the drying side.

STEP 5: MOISTURIZER

Everyone should know this step. However like I say earlier in step 4, hydration does not come from your moisturizer. Moisturizer only helps to moisturize your skin and; create a protection barrier over your skin from external factors and prevent the products you put before from going out.

Belif Creamy Moisturizer Deep Moist

Belif Creamy Moisturizer Deep Moist

There is no mineral oil, synthetic fragrance, synthetic preservatives and animal ingredients in this product. It is a very light product and not heavy until it is pulling your face down. After a while your skin just soaks it right in and does not leave any greasy or oily feeling after that. 2-3 pumps are enough for your face and neck.

STEP 6: SUNBLOCK

Many people take this step for granted or feel this is troublesome step in the morning. Frankly, I do too. It is in the morning. Everybody would like to have that extra 5 minutes of sleep. However, you will suffer the consequence later in the future and regret not doing step. For example, wrinkles, hyperpigmentation, darkening of skin and even worst; skin cancer!

Please do not say that my moisturizer or foundation has SPF. It is not enough! Usually, those kinds of products have less than SPF 30. If your products have SPF 30 or more, please tell me!! I want to know! Also, please be generous with your sunblock unlike makeup where lesser is better. If you do not put enough, it wouldn’t really protect your skin from the sun.

Dermocare Facial Sun Protective Light Fluid SPF50

Dermocare Sunblock

I bought this sunblock from Boost in Bangkok when they were having promotion. If you do not know, Boost would have those promotions once in a while. Like buy 1 get 1 free or buy 2 get 1 free on certain products.

It is a very watery sunblock. I cannot remember if this was a physical or chemical product. The product does not have the ingredients list for me to check. If you know, let me know! When you apply it onto your face, it gets white but after a while it would turn transparent.

You make it to the end of my 1st ever blog post! Yahhh!!! Thank you so much for reading all of it! I am very new to this. Therefore, please forgive me or simply close one (or both! Hahaha!!) eye when you see any error! 😛 If you any questions or requests, let me know at the comment box  and I would try to answer them! If you cannot find the comment box, click the ‘Leave a comment’ button at the top of the blog post! Hope you can support and walk with me down this road! I will post once every week. So keep a look out for it! Next on the series is Anti-Haze Routine!! See you next week!!^.^

Lydia♥

 

One thought on “Skin Care Routine Series 2015: Basic and Rules (Part 1)

  1. Pingback: Skin Care Routine Series: Moisturizing (Part 3) | uniquelykek

Leave a Comment

