2015 Christmas Series: Simple Christmas Festival Glitter Nails

IMG_9997

December is my favorite month of the year because it is Christmas time!!! I really love Christmas!! 😀 So to show my love to Christmas this year, I am doing a Christmas theme post every week from this week till Christmas Week! Thus, there would be 3 post in total for this series.

Like what the title says` this post would be on nails. I have been wearing this nail design as my Pre-Christmas nails specially when it is December where I can go full-out on glitter! For the nail design, I did not want to be typically red and green. It get a bit boring and common as everybody is doing the same thing. Not only that, I want it to be affordable that you would not need to buy new nail polish and you could wear it not only Christmas but other days. However, I wanted it to be glittery as what is Christmas without some glitter. This is also great for those who are new in doing nail designs. It is super simple. If you want to know how I create this nail design, read on for more!

I always loving doing my nails. I find it very therapeutic, calming and makes your creative juice flow. For this design, I use glitter and red to represent Christmas. I wanted a few things for this nail design.

  • Lots of Glitter
  • Have either Green or Red color and not both
  • Affordable
    • Do not need to buy new nail polish
  • Wearable on a daily basis or other occasions
  • Simple and Easy to do

 

Disclaimer:

I am not a professional nail artist or anything like that. I am just a girl who loves to do her nails!

 

These are the things you need:

IMG_0011

  1. Base Coat (Not in the Picture.)
  2. 4 Nail Colors that are similar to each other
  3. 1 or 2 Glitter Nail Polish/Top Coat (I use these as “glue” to hold the glitters in place)
  4. 4 or 5 Different type of Glitters (You could get it in any art or nail store for about S$1 each per pot)
  5. Tray to prevent the glitter from getting anywhere
  6. Old or Unused Tweezers

You do not need to have the exact same brand or colors. Use whatever you have or can find. Make your own personally design! I am just giving you an idea on how I do it.

Step 1: Apply the Base Coat

Step 2: Apply the Base Color (2 Layers of it)

IMG_9989

For the thumb color, I use the same color as the middle finger. (OPI color)

IMG_9987

 

Step 3: Let the top layer of the base color dry (Semi-dry)

This is to prevent smudges when you add the glitters.

 

Step 4: Apply the Glitter Design

Pinky:

IMG_0023

 

IMG_0003

Paint 1 thin layer of “glue” coat. Gently pour the glitter over the nails.

Tap your finger to take out the access glitter and gently press it down to secure it.

Simple!

TIP: Hold the container and tap on it. This way you can control the amount of glitter being poured out to your nail.

IMG_0022

 

Ring Finger:

IMG_0009

IMG_0004Same as the Pinky Finger but change the “glue” and glitter.

Paint 1 thin layer of “glue” coat. Gently pour the glitter over the nails.

Tap your finger to take out the access glitter and gently press it down to secure it.

Simple right?

TIP: Hold the container and tap on it. This way you can control the amount of glitter being poured out to your nail.

IMG_0020

 

Middle Finger:

IMG_0009

IMG_0005

This slightly harder compare to the previous two fingers. Apply the “glue” at only the front part of the nail. Like how you would paint the white color of your french nail design. It does not need to be thin and perfectly straight.

Dip your nail into the glitter and make sure the “glue” area is filled with the glitter.

Tap your finger to get rid of the access glitter.

Gently press the glitter to secure it. Using whatever glitter have on your finger tips, tap it on the rest of the nail. It is has if the glitter is flowing down to the base of your nail like snowing effect.

Finish!

[I lost the close up photos for my Middle Finger. Sorry about that!]

 

Index Finger:

IMG_0006

This is when you need to use the tweezers. Apply a thick layer of “glue” at the base of your nail.

Use the tweezers and pick up a nail art piece and place at the base of your nail. You can put as many pieces you want but make sure it is only at the base.

Gentle press the nail pieces down.

Apply a thin layer coat of “glue”.

TIP: Try not to use nail pieces that are thick as it will come off the nails easily.

[I lost the close up photos for my Index Fingers. Sorry about that!]

 

Thumb:

IMG_0009

IMG_0007

Same method as the Pinky and Ring Finger but change the “glue” and glitter.

Paint 1 thin layer of “glue” coat. Gently pour the glitter over the nails.

Tap your finger to take out the access glitter and gently press it down to secure it.

As simple as 123!

TIP: Hold the container and tap on it. This way you can control the amount of glitter being poured out to your nail.

IMG_0015

Step 5: Use a top coat over it after the glitter is stick to the nail polish properly

Summary

If you do not want to do all glitter` you could use just 1 nail design from here and use it as an accent nail!

For example: You could use a neutral color on all of your nails but on the ring finger` you use the Ring Finger Design as an accent nail. This makes it a bit more glamorous` bling but yet simple at the same time! Specially when your outfit is loud or bright!

Last Words

I hope you like my first ever nail post. I wanted to make it as easy as possible but looks complicated at the same time! What are your favorite nail design?

If you recreate any of these nail designs, do tag me on Instagram or Twitter! I want to see them! See you next week! Muacks!

♥Lydia

Leave a Comment

