2015 Christmas Series: Getting Ready for Christmas Party or Event

MERRY CHRISTMAS EVERYBODY!!!!!

Since this is the last blog post for the Christmas Series, I wanted to post it on Christmas day itself! For this last part of this series, I will talking on how I prepare my skin before a Christmas party or event!

Want to know how to prep your skin for Christmas party or simply any big event? Read on for more!

Preparing your skin before any big event or party is very important. If it is not done properly, your makeup will not set nicely onto your skin and your makeup just looks horrible no matter what you try to do. Not only that, I will be touching on how I prepare my body too!

You can do this routine not only for Christmas party but for any big event or simply want to have spa day for yourself!

I like to prepare my skin night before or simply before the event (If I have the time). Sometimes I would even prepare a few days before the event itself especially when I know a breakout is coming or I do not have the time on night before the event. I will section it into Face, Body and Hair to make things easier. Let’s get started!!

 

FACE

For the night before

I will do everything as per usual. The routine would be focused on anti-acne and brightening.

No.1: Tame eyebrows

Make an eyebrow appointment in the morning or the day before as your skin would get red and irritated after plucking or threading.

No.2: Apply eye drop onto inflamed acne

Eye drops have anti-inflammatory properties and are able to restrict the blood vessels which can reduce acne redness. Soak the cotton bud with the eye drop and apply it onto the acne.

No.3: Use a Clarifying mask after washing your face

Innisfree Jeju Volcanic Pore Clay Mask

IMG_9957

After washing your face with Clarisonic, apply the mask to get rid of all the dirt and impurities from your pores.

No.4: Whiten your teeth

3D Crest White Whitestrips Luxe Professional Effects

IMG_9917

While you wait for your mask to dry, apply the whiten strips to your teeth! Do be careful of this product. If you overshot the timing or use it consistently (Like every day), your teeth sensitivity increases. Even using it on alternate days was too much for me. I use it every 1-2 weeks if I need to. If not, I would only use it when I have an event.

No.5: Use a Sheet/ DIY masks after toning (Balancing pH level) your face

IMG_9922 (2)

If you don’t have a sheet mask at home, you can just use cotton pads as your sheet masks! Soak the cotton pads into rice water or green tea. Peel 1 cotton pad into 2 and place it all around your face! Wait for 10-15 mins. Take it off and apply the next step of the routine! As simple as that!

No.6: Apply an oil that has brightening properties before moisturizing

Garden of Eden Primrose E

IMG_9924

Oil does wonder for my skin especially when I find the right oil. You can use any oil that suits your skin. I am currently loving this oil have this really brightens up and moisturizing my skin without being too oily! (This is also good for people who have oily skin as there is jojoba oil in this.)

No.7: Use an overnight mask

Laneige Water Sleeping Pack

IMG_9954

Of course I will use Laneige Water Sleeping Pack! It’s so good! I have talk a lot about this product before in the past few posts. Check it out if you want to know more! (: Gives extra moisturize and hydration to my skin. Makes my skin plump the next day too!

No.8: Use cuticle oil

O.P.I Avoplex Nail and Cuticle Replenishing Oil

IMG_9923

Usually. I would remove my nail polish before putting this as the product can moisturize and replenish my nails and cuticles better. If I do not have the time to repaint my nails the next day, you can still apply on the cuticles but it would not be as effective.

No.9: Use a thicker consistency or higher concentrate hand cream before you sleep

O.P.I Avoplex High-Intensity Hand and Nail Cream

IMG_9925

Apply a good amount of hand cream and pat it into your skin. Put on a pair of disposable plastic glove and wear a thick cotton glove over it. This increases the absorption product into the skin

 

On the day itself

The routine before I put my makeup would be focused on simply moisturizing and nothing more.

No.1: Use a moisturizing sheet mask before applying essence

No.2: Use an acne patch throughout the day

IMG_9930

I do not really like using this and only use them for emergencies. This patch would only work if the acne has pus in it and it is about to burst!! Grossss!!! But satisfying.

 

Body

For 2 nights before the event

No.1: Remove body hair

Veet Hair Removal Cream Sensitive Skin

IMG_9913

Veet Wax Strips Dry skin

IMG_9921

I mainly use hair removal cream but use wax strips for my underarm area.  I felt that the hair removal cream does not really removal all my underarm hair. It is good for thin and fine hair. Not really good with thick hairs.

When you remove your body hair, you skin looks much whiter, brighter and smoother than before. I do it 2 or more days in before as I usually scrub my body. You cannot do that when you use these products or try not to do it as it might irritate your skin. Also, usually scrubs has oils in them and that cause to decrease the effectiveness of the hair removal products.

For 1 night before the event

No.1: Body Scrub

Soap & Glory Smoothie Star The Breakfast Scrub

IMG_9914

I love this body scrub! It is amazing! It is not too harsh to my skin. Remove my dead skins well and leave my skin really moisturize! The oil residue left on my skin is not too oily and it was just nice! It will go away after some time. I would always stock this up whenever I go to boots overseas as Singapore does not have boots store. Boots always have offer for this brand whenever I go there. Like buy 1 for 1 or buy 2 for 1.

No.2: Body oil and Vitamin C

Bio-Oil

IMG_9926 (2)

Philosophy Turbo Booster C Powder

Philosophy Turbo Booster Powder

I would create a concoction of these together and apply it literally everywhere! It can be slightly too oily and sticky at first but it goes away after a while. It moisturizes and brightens my skin really nicely! The next day my skin has a healthy glow.

Hair

No.1: Hair Treatment

Grove Cold Pressed Extra Virgin Avocado Oil

IMG_9915

I do not use it by itself but mix it with a conditioner. The conditioner needs to be more on the water-based or gel-based side. This really helps to moisturize and treat my hair especially when my hair has lifeless and dry.  This creates a healthy glow after your hair is being dried.

Last Words

Thank you so much for reading this blog post! Hope you find this informative and helpful to you! I would not be posting next week due to New Year. So I will see you next year!! Have a wonderful Christmas and a Happy New Year! Do not forget the main essence of Christmas day itself! May God bless you!! Muacks!

♥Lydia

Leave a Comment

