2015 Beauty Favorites: Body and Hair

image

Hey Girlfriends~

Welcome to the 3rd part of the 2015 Beauty Favorites! Where I will review and explain on the favorite body and hair products that I would buy again. There are not much body and hair products that I really like in 2015. Hopefully this year there will be more products that I would come to really like.

If you want to read the 1st part, click here.

If you want to read the 2nd part,click here.

Read on for more if you want know what are my 2015 body and hair favorites!

All the products you see here, I would buy again unless these few reasons.

  • Got bored of them and want to try new products (Typically Lydia)
  • Found a better product
  • Found a similar but cheaper product

I do not have a product for every single category. The reason is that either I did not like the products enough to be a favorite or did not try any products for that category. Let’s get started!

 

BIO-OIL

IMG_9926 (2)

I love this for simply moisturizing and hydrating my body. It did lighten some of the scars slightly but only after quite some time. I am not sure about stretch marks as the location of my stretch marks is hard to see. I am still looking for a scar treatment that works. This works but really slowly.

I mainly use this at night. It is too oily to put in the morning as this takes some time to set/absorb into the skin. In the morning, my skin would be all smooth and soft if I put in on the night before. I would not need to put lotion again in the morning.

I prefer using this than mixing different types oils myself and put it on my body every other night. It is too troublesome and expensive to do that. Not only that, the formula allows the oils to be absorbed into the skin better compare to the original state of a type of oil.

I do not use for the face as I felt it is too oily and too much for the face.

Also, I like to use this as an after waxing treatment. It calms it down and takes away the stickiness of the wax that has been left on the skin. Not sure about shaving as I do not do that.

PS: Apparently this works well for women who are going through pregnancy. I wouldn’t know seeing I am not even married or pregnant

  • Great for moisturizing and hydrating the skin
  • Stays moisturized throughout the night till next morning
  • Good source of Vitamins A and E
  • A good mixture of oils
  • Takes a long time to see results of scars lightening and reduction of stretch marks
  • Takes a while for the oil to sink into the skin
  • Great for after waxing

 

SOAP & GLORY SMOOTHIE STAR THE BREAKFAST SCRUB

IMG_9914

This is my favorite body scrub ever!! (AKA Holy Grail) I will always stock this up whenever I go to a country that has Boots. They usually have some promotion for Soap & Glory. (Saving tips!)

This is a sugar and salt scrub that is effective yet gentle to your skin. This makes your skin so smooth and soft! After washing it off, you totally do not need to put body lotion or butter after it. There is a thin layer of moisture left on the skin. (Most probably is the shea butter) The moisture left on the skin will sink into your skin a few minutes later. So for those who do not like to have any sort of oiliness or stickiness on the skin, do not worry about it.

  • Holy Grail Body Scrub (Will keep buying this until it discontinued)
  • Effective
  • Gentle
  • Makes skin smooth and soft
  • Really moisturizing
  • Do not need to put lotion after
  • Moisture sink into the skin quickly
  • Affordable price

 

3D CREST WHITE WHITESTRIPS LUXE PROFESSIONAL EFFECTS

IMG_9917

This is my 1st whitening strips and this works. However, this does makes your teeth sensitive. I do not use this every day or week. My teeth cannot take it. I only use this every 2-3 week or when I have an event coming out.

To increase the effectiveness, use tissue to dry your teeth before putting. Also, do not expect perfect white teeth. You will not get it unless you get the whitening treatment done by the dentist.

Tips: You will have a lot of saliva in your mouth for the 30 minutes. It will be disgusting and tortures for the 1st few times. It will get better after some time.

Warning: Do not put for more than 30 minutes. The teeth sensitive increases even more.

  • Really whitens your teeth
  • Increase teeth sensitivity
  • Will not have perfect white teeth

 

L’OREAL EVER STRONG SUFATE-FREE THICKENING SHAMPOO

IMG_0057

As you can see, I am running out of this. I am scared that I will run out of it that I bought 2 more tube of this. This is how much I love this. This says what it claims! I did not expect it to work because usually it does not. However, this really thickens my hair and purifies the scalp! No I am not joking at all. It gives my hair volume due to the thickening of my hair.

I did not know it was that good until I tried other shampoo and I could not get the same effectiveness; even if it is just purifying and cleaning the scalp thoroughly.

Just to let you have a background into my hair and scalp condition. I have a really problematic scalp. It is sensitive, dry, and itchy; has dandruff and have clogged pores which prevent growing of hair. ): Thank God it is all better now.

This prevents my scalp from getting from all those problems I have mentioned earlier. It does not solve it but prevent it to a certain degree and that is good enough of me.

  • Thickens the hair
  • Purifies and cleans the scalp
  • Increase hair volume
  • Prevent dry and itchiness on the scalp
  • Gets rid/prevent some of the dandruff
  • Overall makes scalp and hair healthier

 

PHYTHEOL INTENSE DANDRUFF TREATMENT SHAMPOO

IMG_0058

This was a life saver to me when my scalp went on a crazy mood. There was a period time last year that my scalp suddenly became extreme bad. My scalp was flaking (Dandruff), super itchy and extremely sensitive. The underlying cause behind it might be due to both stress and hormones as at that time was during a transition period of my life. I have tried other products but none of them works and some of them make it even worst! This is the only thing that saves me.

This totally calms my extremely crazy scalp down and reduces the size of the problems. I still have dandruff and itchy scalp once in a while but it brings it down by a lot. Whenever my scalp starts to react again or once a month, I would bring out the big guns and use this as a treatment. This works wonders!

  • Great for sensitive scalp
  • Takes away or reduces dandruff
  • Takes away and prevents itchy scalp
  • Cleans and purify really well.

 

COLD PRESSED EXTRA VIRGIN AVOCADO OIL

IMG_9915

I like to use this on my body, face and hair. However, I mainly like to use this for my hair. Sometimes as conditioner, hair mask, hair treatment and hair oil. If you want to know how I use it, let me know in the comment box and I will make it into a blog post for you all!

Tip: If you want to use this as a conditioner, you put this before your shampoo your hair but after your wet your hair. Make sure you do not use too much oil and shampoo properly. Shampoo twice if needed. After shampooing, just dry your hair as per usual. This is good especially when you run out of conditioner.

  • Multi-function oil
  • Moisturizing
  • Makes hair grow healthier
  • Gives a healthy glow
  • Provides good nutrients
  • Other benefits of avocado oil

 

TONI & GUY CLASSIC PERFECT TEASE DRY SHAMPOO

IMG_0063

I like Toni & Guy’s dry shampoos. I have the other 2 dry shampoos. (Express reboost and Matt Texture) I just bought the latest model (Sky high volume) and I cannot wait to try it! Once I try it, I will do a comparison blog post for you on all 4 models in this dry shampoo series.

Out of the other 2 (Not including the Sky high volume as I have not try it yet), I like this the most. I like each of them for different purpose. The reason I like this more is that this gives slightly more volume and my hair grip on this better. This allows me to give my hair more volume and definition.

The only thing I do not like is the size of it. It is 250ml bottle. It is not travel friendly especially I always bring it around due to my job. I wish they have a smaller bottle of it though, so I can put it in my smaller bag.

  • Sucks away the oil from the scalp
  • Refreshes the scalp
  • Adds volume
  • Provides definition and subtle grip
  • Like all the dry shampoo series (Not sure about the Sky High Volume yet)

 

I am amazed how short this post is. I did not realize that I did not really like a lot of body and hair stuff in 2015 until I did this post. However, I am a person who spends more money and time on skin care than other things. So of course this result is to be expected! Hahaha!! I am trying to post as much as I can. It would not be regular like last year so follow me on WordPress or Twitter or Instagram to be updated! See you soon!! *Muacks*

♥Lydia

One thought on “2015 Beauty Favorites: Body and Hair

  1. Pingback: 2015 Beauty Favorites: Nails | uniquelykek

Leave a Comment

