Review: Goodal Phytowash Yerba Mate Bubbling Peeling

2016-06-06-04.36.53-2.jpg.jpg

Hello there~

I am FINALLY back with a product review! I am truly sorry for being MIA for the past few months. Thank you for those who patiently waited for a new post!

Today I am back with another product from Goodal. Hopefully this product will be as good as the previous one or even better! *Cross fingers*

It’s the same as with this product, there was not much review. There are 2 reasons when there are no reviews on products. One, really good but no one knows about it. Two, really horrible until no one feels that its worth reviewing on it

However, I had a bit of hope and expectation since the previous product was really good.

If you have not read the previous product from Goodal, click here.

If you want to find out whether this product was just simply unknown or bad to the extend that people do not review about, read on for more!

Brand

1e17fb7545c7cbfedd5b2558562947b1.png

Just to give you a brief summary of the brand if you have not heard about this brand before.

“Goodal” is a combination of good + all, meaning good formulations in cosmetics that capture all good things of people.

This is the 1 of thing that attracts me to their brand. This totally speaks to me when I first read it! Personally, a brand’s concept, target and what they stand for is very important. Usually, I would see that first before seeing or buying any of their products. Not including impromptu purchases…

Oh come on! Everyone have done it before! I think… At least that’s what I try to convince and tell myself whenever I make this kind of purchases. It’s such a love and hate relationship! You know what I mean? It can be so frustrating yet exciting feeling at the same time!

Anyway, back to the topic!

If you want to know more information about the brand, click here .

FUN FACT: Goodal is a sub brand from Club Clio

What is it?

IMG_0824

Goodal Phytowash Yerba Mate Bubble Peeling is nutrition infuse bubbling cleanser, exfoliator and mask that literally foams up! (Hmm… Multi-purpose… *Eyes open wide*)

For those who are new to Korean products, the “peeling” for this product is not the same “peeling” as Western products. For Korean products, it is a term to describe exfoliation products.

It claims that it “effectively remove dead skin cells, cleansing and detoxifying pores without stripping the skin of essential moisture, while deeply hydrating the skin.” – Clubcliousa.com

Not only that, it claims that it can prevent premature aging as it protects your skin from environmental stressors and it promotes healthy vitality skin. On the box itself, it says that it can creates a younger-looking, firmer and more elastic skin.

IMG_0825

Yes, I actually kept the box to collect dust at a corner of my room for this review!

Let’s see whether they live up to their claims!

Ingredients:IMG_0827

Water, Lauryl Glucoside, Glycerin, Yerba Mate (Ilex Paraguariensis) Leaf Extract, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Polyethylene, Ethyl Perfluoroisobutyl Ether, Ethyl Perfluorobutyl Ether, Acrylates Copolymer, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Cocamide DEA, Polyacrylamide, Triethanolamine, Betaine, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Phenoxyethanol, PVP, Salicylic Acid, Laureth-7, Olive (Olea Europaea) Fruit Oil, Allantoin, Grapefruit (Citrus Grandis) Peel Oil, Lavendin (Lavandula Hybrida) Oil, Lime (Citrus Aurantifolia) Oil, Cocoa (Theobroma Cacao) Extract, Disodium EDTA, Butylene Glycol, Black Currant (Ribes Nigrum) Seed Oil, Bergamot (Citrus Aurantium Bergamia) Fruit Oil, Cedrus Atlantica Bark Oil, Orange (Citrus Aurantium Dulcis) Fruit Extract, Grapefruit (Citrus Grandis) Fruit Extract, Rose (Rosa Damascena) Flower Oil, Lavender (Lavandula Angustifolia) Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract, Anise (Illicium Verum) Fruit/Seed Oil, Coriander (Coriandrum Sativum) Fruit Oil, Sage (Salvia Officinalis) Oil, Artemisia Absinthium Extract, Matricaria (Chamomilla Recutita) Flower Extract, Camu Camu (Myrciaria Dubia) Fruit Extract, Vanilla (Vanilla Planifolia) Fruit Extract, Sandalwood (Santalum Album) Oil, Brazil Nut (Bertholletia Excelsa) Seed Oil, Plukenetia Volubilis Seed Oil, Murumuru (Astrocaryum Murumuru) Seed Butter, Cupuacu (Theobroma Grandiflorum) Seed Butter 

Based on COSDNA, there are 2 ingredients that shows the red flag which are Cocamide DEA and Salicylic Acid. I am not worried about Salicylic Acid as the rate is 5-7 out of 10 but Cocamide DEA has a solid 7 out of 10 on safety which is not good. The lower number means that the lower the hazard of the ingredient is. The safe index in COSDNA is a comprehensive index focus on safety on long term usage. The index is to show whether a particular ingredient is more inclined to long-term injury of skin, cells or the human body. If you want to know more or new to COSDNA, click here

For those who have acne prone skin, there are a few ingredients that pop up.

  1. Sodium Laureth Sulfate 3/5 Acne
  2. Triethanol amine 2/5 Ance
  3. Olive Fruit Oil 2/5 Acne
  4. Butylene Glycol 1/5 Acne

For those who have sensitive skin, there is only 1 ingredient that pops up.

  1. Sodium Laureth Sulfate 2/5 Irritant

Here are some ingredients that I found interesting!

Highlighted Ingredients

Glycerin

You will see this ingredient in a lot of products and not just skincare. That’s why I want to add this in here so you can get a rough idea on what this is and how it affects your skin. I will only talk about the skincare side. It is an organic sugar-alcohol compound that is non-toxic and use as a humectant. Glycerin is an ingredient that can naturally be found in the skin and it is one of the many substances in the skin that help maintain the outer barrier of your skin. This prevents dryness or scaling of the skin as humectant attracts water from the surrounding area into the skin.

Here are some benefits of glycerin:

  • Attracts water into the outer most skin layer = Moisturizing
  • Make skin smoother and softer
  • Increase strength in natural skin barrier
  • Protect skin against irritation
  • Prevents and helps to treat itchy and flaking skin

If you want to know more, click here.

Ilex Paraguariensis Leaf Extract (Yerba Mate)

Yerba Mate is much more known as a tea beverage called mate then a cosmetic ingredient. It is also commonly known as God’s Drink. You might not have heard it before as it is traditionally consumed in central and southern regions of South America and not in Asia. Most people drink it for weight loss purpose.

I am someone who LOVE teas. So when I found out that Yerba Mate is a type of tea, I got really excited! This is a tea product! It’s a skincare tea product! It was a plus point for me personally. Another plus point is that there is Green Tea extract in this too. *Shriek*

There are a lot of good properties for Yerba Mate. It has over 50 types of minerals and vitamins! That’s a lot!

Summarize properties/benefits

  • Anti-inflammatory
  • Anti-oxidant (Quite high)
  • Anti-aging
  • Brightens overall complexion
  • Lighten scars
  • Improve skin texture
  • Balance out the skin
  • Retains moisture

Frankly, I don’t think you will really benefit from these properties as it’s a cleanser. You are going to wash it all away. All the nutrients would go down the drain and not stay on your skin for a few hours like a serum or essence would.

However, I am not saying you would not see or gain benefits. You might or might not see them. It really depends.

If you want to know more about Yerba Mate, click here.

Salicylic Acid

Yah! There is a chemical exfoliator in this! If you have not heard about Salicylic Acid, where and how have you been living the past few thousand years?!! You need this in your skin LIFE! Actually, not really. It is the AHA and BHA chemical exfoliates that you need in your life!

For those who don’t know or cannot really remember what is this ingredient, here is a brief summary for you!

  • Chemical exfoliant ingredient = Remove dead skin
  • Under the category of BHA (Beta Hydroxyl Acid)
  • Increase cell turnover
  • Reduce redness and inflammation
  • Opens up pores
  • Breaks down sebum in pores
  • Increases collagen production
  • Reduces skin discolouration
  • Especially suited for oily skin

Summarized of the ingredients

When I took a closer look at the ingredients, I was not really happy for the price I pay. At the top half of the ingredients list, there are a lot of fragrance oil and chemicals. Most of them do not have any actual real nutritional benefits for your skin. The “cheaper” oils are at the top while ingredients at the bottom are the ones that they marketed!

They marketed their 4 main ingredients (Camu Camu Fruit, Brazil Nut Seed Oil, Cupuacu Butter and Inca Omega oil) besides the Yerba Mate but they put them right at the bottom of the list! Now you know why I am not happy?

However!! I have use products before that the ingredients lists are not really fantastic or good but the results are surprisingly really good! *ahem Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate* (Love it!) Therefore, I am keeping my hopes up that this is 1 of those products. *Cross fingers*

Performance

Appearance and Application

IMG_0763

IMG_0764
IMG_0765
Bottle
  • 50ml Opaque Dark Green Bottle
  • Translucent Grey Cap
  • Pump Dispenser

I felt that the design of the bottle is too bulky for that amount of product. Almost 1/2 of the bottle size are the cap and the pump applicator which is totally ridiculous! Totally not travel friendly especially when I use this when I am out and about. Apparently I did not think about that when I bought this.  =.=

 

I drop the bottle once. Once! The pump presser part came out ( The part that you see the bubbles coming out). I can say that I take care of my products pretty well but I did not expect that to happen within the 1st drop. Especially when the bottle is pretty sturdy and solid. After that drop, bubbles start to foam at the mouth area and products keep leaking from the sides of the pump. I did not pay so much money (S$35.90) for this. Thank God I bought it on discount! *Phew*

IMG_0876

I usually use about 2 pumps per usage. I like to use this in the morning after I put my AHAs and BHAs the night before. Especially when I do not have enough time to use a scrub or Clarisonic in the morning. (Don’t blame the girl for loving her sleep! I rather wake up later than sleep later. Thus, I like the morning routine short despite my long long night routine! 😛 ) You need to get rid of those disgusting dead skins that the acids have accumulate overnight! Otherwise, you would have more dead skins trap in your pores and cause a breakout.

 

Product

IMG_0768

The product itself has a creamy and thick consistency that has tiny little granules in them. Once the product contact with water and you rub it in; it will start to bubble and form up.

IMG_0769

IMG_0775

The form is only a light layer and not those thick ones you get from bubbling mask. As it starts to form up, you will feel the tingling sensation on your skin. The sensation is not as strong as the bubbling mask. (If you have use it before)

IMG_0776

For those who have not try bubbling mask or any products similar to this, you might want to prepare yourself.

IMG_0777

^This is after the bubble settled down and  I rub it^

The foam would slowly disappear after a minute or two. (This depends on the amount of water and product you use. It might be more then 2 minutes. The more the product you use, the longer it take.)

 

Cost

The original price for this product is S$35.90 for 50ml which is super expensive for such a small amount of product.

I bought this product from BHG in Singapore and sometimes there are discount. I would suggest waiting for the discounts to buy the product if you would want to try it. Especially during the event months like Mother’s Day and Christmas Day.

PS: Kate Somerville ExfoliKate Cleanser Daily Forming Wash is cheaper than this product!! It is sold in Sephora at S$38 for 150ml. Can you believe that?! However, this product is an AHA and not BHA cleanser.

 

Effects on skin

1. Cleanse face without stripping of natural skin oil and minerals.

I did not felt any tightening or “clean” feeling when I cleanse it. My face is clean but moist at the same time. The product does retains moisture on my face and balance out my skin. There was no product residue or dirt left behind.

2. Does not damage my acid mantle (pH level 6)

Personally, my cleanser has to be pH 6.5 and below. If not, it would be out the window or down the rubbish chute. I would not want my cleanser to damage my acid mantle and make my skin even more venerable to bacterial!

3. Physical exfoliate ingredients does not really take out the flaky dead skins completely

I felt that the granules was not enough for me to take away flakes of dead skin. They were too small and disappear quickly as you rub the product. Especially, when the products starts to bubble and form up before you could scrub the dead skin away. The satisfaction of scrubbing your face is not there.

However, the granules are gentle on your skin unlike sugar scrub products where it scratches your face.

4. Chemical exfoliate ingredients improve skin texture and cleanse the pores to a certain extend.

The longer you put, the better the result. Let me break this down. Chemical exfoliates are meant to be put onto the skin and do it wonders as time pass. Thus, putting it on your face for a few minutes (Or even lesser) before washing it off would be kinda pointless.

However, I can tell you that the product’s exfoliate effect mainly came from the chemical exfoliate ingredients. I feel that it does help clean the pores ever so slightly better than regular cleanser without it. I did not see any decrease in pimples during my breakouts.

5. Unclog pores to a certain extend

Like what I have said earlier, it really depends on how long you put the products on your face. From what I know and see from the ingredient list; it mainly uses Salicylic Acid (BHA) to open up the pores, break down the sebum and remove the dirt inside the pores. Just a few minutes of letting BHA seat on your skin, how much can it unclog sebum inside the pores?

I am not saying it does not help. It does help to unclog pores better than regular non-BHA cleansers. Just not that good compare to BHA  products that stays on your face.

6. No lightening of skin discolouration or scars

I did not see any changes or lightening on my scars and skin discolouration during the usage of using this product.

7. Brightens overall complexion

It does makes my skin more “awake” and freshen up but this brightening effect only last for a short term. It does not actually stay or last long.

 

Result

2016-06-06-04.51.52-1.jpg.jpg

I bought this product in the first place is so that I can bring lesser skin care products with me for work and to make my morning skin care routine shorter.  However, this was not the case.

This is suppose to be a multi-function product. It was suppose to make my routine shorter and faster. Using a normal cleanser and acid peeling pad packets would be so much more faster compare to waiting for a few minutes for the chemical exfoliant to work and the bubble to finish bubbling; then finally rinse it off.

Don’t get me wrong. This multi-function product does cleanse and exfoliate my skin; make my skin smoother and so on. It’s just that I would rather repurchase and use another product that I know for sure that it does the job well. You would want to use a product that is best for your skin right? If not, why am I using the product in the first place?

You can say that it is kind to be expected for a multi-function product to give somewhat an average result. I did too! However, the price tag of this product is just so not friendly. Due to that, my expectation of the product went higher. If the product’s result was slightly above average or price was lower; I would repurchase. However, this multi-function product did not do that well at all and with that price tag; it really decreases the repurchasing rate of the product.

I am being very lenient to this product compare to other products that I have tested. I literally close like both my eyes on the ingredient list and gave it a chance to redeem itself.  As long the result was slightly above average, I would at least reconsider to repurchase it again but it still did not lift up to expectation.

I think it is pretty obvious to you by now that I would not repurchase this product again. I really want to like this product but it was just not meant to be.

To summaries, it is a neither here or nor there product which doesn’t do the job well enough for the high price tag. 

Therefore, this impulse product will be going and is in the category of “not good enough for a review product” for me.

2016-06-06-04.51.54-1.jpg.jpg

PS: This product might not work for me but it might really work well for you and your lifestyle. I know a few people who likes this product and it works well for them. So you might never know! I can tell you my opinions and thoughts but most importantly is for you to use products that suit your skin.
PRO CON
Multi-functional product Bulky and not travel friendly
Improve skin texture slightly Package breaks easily
Unclogs pores to a certain extend Expensive for such a small amount of product
Does not take away skin natural minerals and oil Granules was unable to remove flakes of dead skin
Retains moisture Need to wait for the chemical exfoliant to work on the skin
Brightens up complexion No lightening of skin discolouration or scars
Low pH (6) Only has 1 BHA ingredient
  No AHA ingredient

 

One thought on “Review: Goodal Phytowash Yerba Mate Bubbling Peeling

  1. Pingback: Empties: January to July 2016 Part 1 | uniquelykek

Leave a Comment

