Empties: January to July 2016 Part 2

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

HELLO!!!

I am back with the 2nd part! I initially wanted to put it into 2 parts then I realise that I left out a bunch of products. It was too long to put it into 2 parts so I decided to put it into 3 parts instead!

I took a longer time to do this part as I having problems remembering the thoughts and opinions I had on some of the products. It has been quite some time since I last use them.

Part 1 focus more on other skin care products besides moisturiser and sunblocks!
If you have not seen or read the part 1, click here!

This post is mainly all about moisturisers and sunblocks! Could I be any more obvious?Hahaha!!!

-.-

Okay. I stop.

Let’s jump right into it before I get even worst!


Belif Creamy Moisturizer Cream Moist

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I really like using this as a daytime moisture as it really sinks into the skin. It gives a lot of moisture and hydration to the skin without the oiliness of the cream moisturiser usually gives. It is lightweight moisturiser that is great for day and night time for both dry, oily and combination(More on the oily side) skin.

However, for dry skin, I would use this at night only when I have a lot of products on my skin and I don’t want to overload my skin with products. You would not want to clog your pores like I did! Ugh! It was horrible! ):

I live in a humid and hot country. This does not weigh my skin down and make my face greasy throughout the day. On days when I feel a bit duller or dry, I would just add a few drops of facial oil into this.

However, sensitive people might want to take note that there is jasmine extract, witch hazel extract and fragrance in this.

I would definitely repurchase this again if not due to the fragrance in this. I don’t particularly like to have fragrance in my skin care products. Just a personal preference.  I am okay with it but if I have an option, I rather not have them inside. Thus, I might repurchase this again as it was good enough to overlook the fragrance.

 

 

Belif the True Cream Moisturizing Bomb

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I bought this as I heard it was similar to Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream (In the aspect of the ability to retain moisture for up to 26 hours) that I used to like and use all the time before I got greedy! I bought this cream in the first place as it was similar to Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream but with better ingredients inside it.

It is a great mix of a gel and cream consistency. So it is great for people with combination skin or dry skin people who do not like the really oily moisturiser that you can sometimes get from cream. It’s also great as a night moisturiser for normal skin people who is living in a humid country.

You can use this as a morning moisturiser for the colder season like spring and autumn for dry skin; and night moisturiser for oily skin peeps!

This gives similar effects and results as Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream which I will be talking about later on.

I like using this but due to the fragrance in this that I didn’t repurchase it previously. However, I might repurchase it again as I miss using this. But I also want to try the aqua bomb! I have not try that but I don’t want to buy 2 moisturisers! Plus, there are other moisturisers I want to try too! AH!! Ugh… 1st world problems…):

PS: Overall, I prefer this over the Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream.

 

Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I used to use this ALL THE TIME before I met Guerisson 9-Complex! This was the 1st moisturiser that I fell in love with. You have no idea how much I repurchase it over and over again. Actually….. I also don’t know how many times I repurchase it myself but I do know it was more than 4 times! That is a lot to someone who likes to try a new product and gets bored of products pretty quickly. Plus, it is expensive to me at that point in time and it is still is to me now. ($48 for 50ml/1.7 Fl. oz.) 0.0!!

This is what I call a heavy duty moisturiser! This really moisturises and retain the moisture in the skin. It protects your skin from the environment irritants and pollutions by giving a protective layer over the face. Last time I used to have itchy patches on my face during the day and this helps reduce the itchiness and size of the patches. This does make your skin soft and smooth even after 16 hours! (I couldn’t test it out for 24 hours)

Not only that, this product make my skin care routine shorter as I would not need to put facial oils or lotions/hydrating lotions. I would just cleanse, tone, put essence and this moisturiser; and I am good to go! Perfect for lazy/rush days! Hahaha!!:P

However, 1 of the problems that I face with this cream is the ingredient list. This has a horrible ingredient list. Don’t get me wrong. The formulation is great but the ingredient list; not so much. There are a few preservatives and skin irritants inside that it quite high on the ingredient list. Like Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben and Propylparaben. Plus, there were no good ingredients inside that can make a change/improve your skin. This is the 1 of the main reason why I didn’t and will not repurchase.

Another problem is that it is too heavy for the day, especially in a hot humid country. (I live in Singapore) Whenever I use this in the morning, I feel like I am risking of clogging my pores. Not only that, when I sweat a lot or my face produces more sebum than per usual; even my dry face can look greasy. But if you use the correct amount and know where to put it at; this can be a great daytime moisturiser!

However, I wanted a moisturiser that almost (3/4) completely sinks into my skin and not just sit on top of it. Plus, I want to put the moisturiser on both day and night without worry; like to put as much as I like on my face. That is the 3rd main reason why I didn’t and will not repurchase.

The last main reason is that I prefer and love Guerisson 9-Complex much more. Guerisson 9-Complex is now my backup / go-to moisturiser. If anything happens, I would just go back to it. Even the Belif The True Cream Moisturising Bomb is overall better.

Not only that, the Ultra Facial Cream has a high price tag. So this is another product which has a high price tag and horrible ingredient list but good formulations.

If it was not obvious to you, I would not be repurchasing it again.

However, if you don’t like the idea of putting horse oil on your face or you are looking for a heavy duty moisturiser; give this a go!

Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream Intensive Hydration

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I simply had to try this when Kiehl’s came out with this! I feel the texture is much more lightweight and gel like compare to the original version. This sinks into the skin much faster and does not leave a layer of oil after some time. This might be due to the high alcohol content in the ingredient list.

If you are used to the original version, you would be not used to the feeling of no layer of oil/“protective layer”(That’s what I like to call it) over your face.
Your face would not feel heavy or oily throughout the day that sometimes the original version can give if you spent the whole day outdoor. Also, there are no stickiness or residue after it sinks into the skin.

However, I would not repurchase it again.  Same few reasons why I would not repuchase the original version.

Plus, this is much more expensive than the original version. (S$51 for 50ml/ 1.7 FL. oz. !!!!!!)

There are no outstanding ingredients that can really help moisturises your skin. The ones that do help are so little. Even when I do not care about the ingredient list, the formulations is not that great. I do not feel like it really moisturises my skin, unlike the original version. I feel that it sucks the moisture out from my skin instead. This is most probably due to the high alcohol content and lacking of skin moisturising ingredients.

Don’t get me wrong. I am okay with alcohol in my products! Just as long it is used in a correct formulation and proportion in a product. That’s why you would realise how good they can be.

Mainly there are 2 groups of people in regards to alcohol in skincare products.
1st: Do not believe in alcohol and felt that it shouldn’t be inside skincare products at all.
2nd: Belief in alcohol in products but only when use in a correct formulation and proportion.

Obviously, I am in the 2nd group but for this product, the alcohol was not badly formulated.

 

Renew Antioxidant Moisturising Cream

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

This is 1 of those impulse purchases that I didn’t do any research on but like what I look at. This is an organic paraben free product. The main reason why I bought this in the first place is the ingredient list. There are a lot of good essential oils, plant extracts and don’t have a lot of “rubbish”/ fillers ingredients.

Here are the things that this product don’t have: (I love it when brands take an effort to state it out and try to have better ingredient list)

  • No Sodium Laurel Sulphate (SLS)
  • No Sodium Laureth Sulphate (SLES)
  • No Synthetic Fragrances
  • No Animal Derivatives
  • No Harsh Detergents
  • No Propylene Glycol
  • No Artificial Colours
  • No Silicone Oils
  • No Minerals Oils
  • No EDTA
  • No Parabens

Despite having a good ingredient list and being great for daytime moisturiser; I would not repurchase it again for 2 reasons.

  1. 6 months expiry date after opening
    • This is a 120ml/4.06 Fl.oz tub and that is A LOT of products to finish within 6 months. Especially for someone like me who uses different products to suit the skin needs at that point in time. I had to use it both morning and night to finish it in time
  2. Not moisturising enough and does not smooth the skin
    • Despite having many good moisturising ingredients, it was not moisturising enough for my dry skin. I prefer to use this in the morning simply because this dries matte which is great for humid countries like Singapore. People with combination/oily skin would like this moisturiser much more. Especially those who like to use organic skin care and have really sensitive skin.

I like my moisturisers to smoothes and calms down the skin. This maybe due to the fact that I have sensitive skin so I prefer and tend to love my moisturisers to have that effect. Despite that, this does not irritate your skin or cause any breakouts.

Innisfree White Tone Up Cream

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I will keep this short and simple. I would not repurchase it. It does not do what it claims or anything for that fact. I bought this for the purpose of lightening my scars, balance out my uneven skin tone and brighten up my complexion. This did nothing of those except a slight brightening of complexion.

I feel this is more on the gel side than a cream but oh well! On that note, this is totally not moisturising for my dry skin. The End. Full Stop. Not going to spend more time talking about this useless moisturiser.

 

Guerisson 9-Complex

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I LOVE THIS!!!! I repeat. I LOVE THIS MOISTURISER!!!! I would definitely repurchase this and I am already using my 2nd tub. I was frantic when I was on my last legs on this and my 2nd tub has not arrived. That’s how much I really like this product.

I just going to say the main effects in point form to prevent myself from rambling on and on.

  • Richly moisturising
  • Hydrate the skin
  • Brighten up complexion
  • Gives a healthy glow without looking greasy
  • Soothes and calm irritate and itchy skin
  • Reduce redness and inflammation
  • Repairs the moisture barrier
  • Makes skin smooth in texture
  • Sinks into the skin quickly

 

Now on to the Sunblocks~

 

 

Dermocare Facial Sun Protection Light Fluid SPF50 For Normal to Dry Skin & For Combination to Oily Skin

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I can’t remember if I bought this in Bangkok or in Abu Dhabi last year but I bought it in Boots. I like shopping at Boots when I am overseas. They have always had great sales and promotions. Plus, they have products that are not available in Singapore’s Drugstores. (Talking to you Watsons and Guardian)

I bought this simply because of the 1 for 1 promotion that they were having or was it 50% for 2nd item promotion. Plus, the price was affordable even before the discount promotion!

Anyway, I accidentally took the Combination to Oily skin version for the 2nd bottle and I didn’t like it at all. It was too drying for me. I had to put oil and richer moisturisers to prevent my skin from drying out from this.

However, I am okay with the Normal to Dry skin version. This is the kind of sunblock where I don’t particular like or dislike it. I am just okay with it. That’s it.

It is a physical sunblock that dries to a slightly powdery finish after some time. ( I cannot remember if the Normal to Dry version does this cause I use that 1st before using the combination version. It’s been quite some time since I used it.) It does have a white cast over like typical physical sunblock. It is light weight and more on the watery consistency side which I like.

I would not repurchase it again simply because there are other sunblock products that I want to try and it’s harder to get in Singapore. (Not counting online store) Don’t get me wrong. It is not a bad product. I just want to try new stuff but I would come back to this if I would not know what to buy and able to get my hands on it.

PS: Not sure about the waterproof as I didn’t test it out but it is not completely sweatproof. It doesn’t claim it is waterproof or sweatproof anyway. Just thought to let you know.

 

Biore UV Aqua Rich Watery Essence Water Base SPF50+ PA+++

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I have repurchased, currently using this product and might not repurchase it again. Haha!! What a way to start an empty product review! You would understand it in a bit.

This has a really lightweight consistency and has more of a lotion-gel texture. It dries really quickly and does not leave a white cast on the face. I simply like this product because of this 2 main factor.

However, there are 2 things that I don’t like about this product.

  1. The high amount of alcohol in this!
    •  It has such a high amount of alcohol in this that I felt that it was drying my skin as it dries at the same time. Felt like it was taking away moisture from my skin.
  2. No Physical sunblock ingredient
    • This is 100% chemical sunblock with no physical ingredient in this which makes me debate about this product. I believe that sunblocks should have both physical and chemical ingredients in them. No matter how small the amount is.

The reason why I might not repurchase this after using this product as I realise my face is getting darker despite wearing this. I didn’t realise it before but recently I have been out under the sun more and my face is getting darker but my neck and shoulder are not. I am still testing what is the cause of it. Just to let you know.

Edited: I found out the reason why my face is getting darker but my neck and shoulder doesn’t. I feel so dumb not realise this. This is a 100% chemical sunblock. That means I need to wait for 30mins for the sunblock to actually work before going out and letting my skin get exposed to the sun. I usually do not wait for 30mins and just leave the house. Plus, it is the first 30mins is where my skin get the most exposure to direct sunlight!

 

Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Dry-Touch Sunblock SPF 50+ PA+++ Helioplex Version

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I miss using this product. Here are the reasons why:

  • Lightweight and dries quickly (Not as fast as Biore UV Aqua)
  • Sweatproof and resist to rub-off
  • Not really sure about the waterproof but it’s definitely water resistance
  • No sticky or greasy feeling after
  • Did not break me out
  • Leave only a slight white cast
  • Have a matt finish for me(Dry skin)
  • Smooths out the skin
  • Does not darken my skin
  • Alcohol content not that high
  • Have both physical and chemical ingredients

One thing that I don’t like about this product is that it can dry my skin out. Especially when you use a light weight moisturiser before it or did not put facial oil under it.

I would repurchase it after using the Biore UV Aqua Rich Watery Essence finish as this does not break me out or darken my skin tone. (Edited: Plus, it has physical sunblock ingredients in this that allows me to be under direct sunlight right after putting this.)  I do not want my face to be darker than my neck like what the Biore UV Aqua is doing to me now. Hopefully, it is not the sunblock but something else. Plus, I am using another Biore sunblock(Milk version) and it really REALLY BROKE ME OUT! Not funny at all. Not funny.


Ending the post with a bad note but I hope it helps you in buying your products. I don’t want to sound negative but these are my honest feelings. The next post would be last part of the super looonnnngggg empties posts! Sorry, it took longer than usual. I needed more time to recall my thoughts on the products especially when it’s been quite a few months for some of them. Okay. Bye~!! 👋 😁

Lydia

One thought on “Empties: January to July 2016 Part 2

  1. Pingback: Empties: January to July 2016 Part 3 (Final) | uniquelykek

Leave a Comment

