Empties: January to July 2016 Part 3 (Final)

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I am back with the last and final part! This post would have much lesser products compare to the 1st part but slightly more compare to part 2!

Part 1 is about skin care products besides moisturiser and sunblock!
If you have not seen it, click here!

Part 2 is all about moisturisers and sunblock!
If you have not seen it, click here!

Unlike the previous posts, this posts you would be seeing

  • Makeup
  • Hair and Body products
  • Facial Mists – I added it in here instead of part 1 or 2 as there were too many products

Simply, the rest of empties products! Let’s jump straight into it!


Make Up For Ever Professional High Definition Concealer #330

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I have sort of repurchase it before but will not repurchase it again if it was the old version. Might repurchase it again if it is the latest version and packaging. This is my 2nd time using this and there are a few reasons why I sort of bought it the 2nd time. This brightens up my under eye area and conceals my dark circle naturally. Not like some under eye concealer where you could totally tell the concealer from your face/base makeup colour. The yellow undertone matches my dark circle colour well and cancel it out. However, it doesn’t have a full coverage and completely conceals my dark circle which I am fine with it. As long it looks natural and cancels most of my dark circle out. I am a happy girl! That’s how bad my dark circles are.

Another thing I like is the silicon applicator where bacteria would not be able to have a feast or able to party. It is hard to find silicon applicator in under eye concealer where most of them are brushes.

Here is the bad part. The silicon applicator can be a bit difficult to use/control. People say to press the applicator to control the amount but that depicts the purpose of having a silicon applicator. Your dirty hands are transferring all the bacteria and dirt to it.

I also felt it was too bendable and the shape starts to change when you keep apply the concealer on the same applicator side. Like the applicator starts to bend/lean to one side. Also, it is hard to control the amount of product that you want to use and when you twist too much; the leftover product will dry out. When you apply those dried concealers, it looks cakey and it is hard to blend into the skin. You are wasting a lot of products! Plus, you do not have a lot of product in the first place.

That is the main reason why I will not repurchase it again. This cost around S$51 for 1.5ml/ 0.05 Fl.oz. 0.0

It is really expensive!!!💸💸💸

However, MUFE (Make Up For Ever) changed the formulation, name, packaging and applicator this year. I yet to try that so I cannot really say much about it except the new version has a 7ml amount of product for S$50 which is about 4.5 times more than the old version! That’s why I said I might repurchase the new version when I have cash to spare as I still feel $50 for a concealer is expensive. I rather spend money on skin care products. Hahaha!! 😀

The reason why I say I sort of repurchase it again as this 2nd tube was a gift when I was debating on whether to get this again at the store. My mum so sweetly bought it for me and I am thankful for that but I do think she did that so she can faster leave the store!

Hahaha!!! I kinda spend too much time in there… `:D

You cannot blame me! It’s Sephora we are talking about!! How can you not?! Especially for those who likes makeup or skincare. However, my mum is not really into this kind of things so its great she is willing to wait for me while I shop. I love you mum!! *MUACKS*

Estee Lauder Double Wear Zero-Smudge Lengthening Mascara #01 Black

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I would not repurchase it again. Simply because it smudges on me, it didn’t give me as much volume as I would like it and it is expensive(for me). I can get the same effect but with more volume with cheaper mascaras.

However, you cannot blame this mascara. It is meant for lengthening and it did lengthen my lashes but that’s all it did. It does separate out my lashes but does not give those fan effect that really separates the lashes. Also, there are other cheaper alternatives mascaras that lengthen as well if not better than this. Does not last long on my lashes but it was easy to remove.

PS: It is really hard for me to find a mascara that doesn’t smudge on me at all. So far there is only one and that mascara really doesn’t budge or smudge at all!

Facial Mists

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I have so many facial mists until I don’t know where to begin. I would not go into so much detail on each individual one. Instead I will tell you why I would not repurchase any of these product except the La Roche-Posay Thermal Spring Water. Right now I am only using La Roche-Posay Thermal Spring Water as it passes through all the criteria.

I can be quite fussy when it comes to facial mists. For example, I need to make sure the spray is not too strong but strong enough at the same time to give me the refreshing feeling. If you know what I mean. So these are some of the reasons/ criteria why all except one did not make the cut.

  • Water particles must not be so big to have water dripping down the face even if you do go overboard slightly with the spray or have water markings
  • Spray power must not be so weak or water particles so small that you don’t feel refreshing or any mist going onto your face
  • No strong fragrance. Better yet, no fragrance.

Klorane Dry Shampoo with Oat Milk

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I used to use this all the time just because of the size and being able to easily purchase this at Watsons. There was a point in time where I didn’t have time to wash my hair after teaching my classes. This was the only dry shampoo that I could find that the price was affordable decent enough for me to repurchase it over and over again.

I didn’t like the other dry shampoos available at that point of time. It was either the perfume was too strong or I felt that it was not really soaking up the dirt and oil or bottle size was not suitable for me. I could go on but you get the gist. This bottle size was not so small that after a few days, the bottle would be emptied or it’s too big that it is inconvenient to travel with.

Right now I am using the Toni & Guy ones as I don’t need to use it as often as I need before and I don’t need to carry it around anymore. It lasts much longer too. These days I have time to wash my hair after my classes which is much better for me! I like to use the Toni & Guy more now as it has more product, gives slightly more volume and it cleans slightly better. It does not give as much of the powdery finish that this can give.

I would repurchase it again if I need to carry it around again, use it very often and only have a small budget. Unless, I see another better and cheaper alternative. That’s always the case with me! Hahaha!!!

Percy & Reed Dry Shampoo

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

This is my 1st higher end dry shampoo that I have tried. I can totally remember the difference between this and Klorane Dry Shampoo. This was much fresher and cooler to your scalp when you spray it. You would feel really “shiok”! This is what Singaporeans like to say which means feels good. If I translate it correctly. Hahaha!!!

Anyway, it does a decent job of cleaning but after you work it into the skin, you don’t feel like you put dry shampoo. For the Klorane Dry Shampoo, you can sometimes feel that there is dry shampoo in your hair.

I am not sure about the volume as I did not use a lot of it per use. There was such little products inside that I was to keep and make it last. I didn’t dare to really spray as much as I like. Where I would spray as much as I want with the Klorane Dry Shampoo without feeling the pinch. That’s the main bad thing about this product.

I knew I would not repurchase it again due to the price tag and bought it just to see the differences. However, I might repurchase it again if I have the extra cash to get it as I did enjoy using it.

 

Phyto Phytheol Intense Anti-dandruff Treatment Shampoo

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

From Left to Right: Bought in Stores, Bought online

THIS REALLY WORKS! For those who have really bad dandruff, this would be great for you! There are 2 different packaging as I bought 1 in store and another from online. I presume that the 1 I bought from online has the old packaging.

PS: Online sells it much cheaper even if you get discounts in stores.

Despite being expensive for such little amount of product, I still find it quite reasonable. I use this as a treatment rather than a shampoo that I use daily. I would use this about 2-3 times per week.

I did not follow their instructions of using it twice. I use another product to wash my hair 1st to get rid of all the junk and dirt that it collected throughout the day before using this as my 2nd wash. I felt that it works better and really get into my scalp. If you know what I mean.

One bottle lasted me slightly longer compare to when I used it twice every single time I shower. This way I got to save money and get the job done.

I do think this does solve your problem if you suffer from mild dandruff issues. However, if you have really bad dandruff problems, this will reduce it. It might be gone if you use continuously but for that I cannot grantee you. I stop using it after my 2nd bottle as the dandruff was not as problematic as before.

I will repurchase it again if my dandruff gets a bit out of hand or when I still cannot find a cheaper alternative for my scalp issues.

 

Proganix Repair Shampoo

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I will not repurchase it as it does not do anything for my hair and it is such a waste of money. This does not even clean my scalp properly. Every time I come out of the shower, my scalp would itch and I would feel like my hair is not clean.

I usually wash my hair/scalp twice as my scalp tends to build my dirt and junk easily. So I needed that extra wash to really clean my scalp. However, even when I wash it 3 times with this shampoo, I don’t feel clean. It is not as bad as when I wash it 2 times but still, you wouldn’t want to wash your hair/scalp 3 times every single time you shower! It takes so much effort and hassles to do it. Also, think about the amount of shampoo and water you need to use. It is just so not worth it.

PS: It does not even repair your hair. It dries it out. -.-

 

L’oreal EverSleek Frizz Taming Creme Serum

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

This was the 1st hair serum that I bought and did not repurchase it previously but might repurchase it again. Previously I didn’t repurchase as this weighs down my hair and making it look like I have very little hair. I have really thin hair to begin with and this makes it super obvious. However, at that time, I have not dye my hair and it was really smooth and soft. That no matter what I do to it, it just flattens or goes back down after a while. Like after spending the effort to curl my hair, the curls would disappear after an hour or 2. Sigh…

Truthfully, I didn’t really need this serum at that point of time. I just wanted to try a hair serum and tame the little frizz I have when I wake up in the morning. I got bored with my own DIY hair serum or was it I didn’t have time for it….Hmmm…

Anyway! I might repurchase it again as I have dye my hair and have been washing my hair a lot of times per day due to my work. Plus, my hair has consistently been pulled and tied up throughout the day. That it needs some moisturising love back in their strand-y life. Haha!!

Oh~ Just humour me and just laugh at the lame/stupid joke. Hahaha!!

Another reason for me to (might) repurchase it as I want to really test it out. Unlike the previous time where I was not able to fully test its full potential due to my hair not needing it.

Vaseline Total Moisture Nourishing

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

This is one of those ‘okay’ body moisturisers. I can don’t mind using them as they get the job done but I don’t particularly like them. I am just okay with it.

I have also tried the cocoa and whitening version. I will compare this to the cocoa as it is much more similar and it is not fair to compare the whitening to this. This is not as sticky and moisturising as the cocoa version by a bit.

If I cannot find another affordable body moisturiser, I would repurchase this. Even if this is not as moisturising as the cocoa version, I prefer the less stickiness of it.

 

Veet Hair Removal Cream Sensitive Skin & Dry Skin

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Even if it’s for sensitive or dry skin, both of them still makes my skin itch and cause it to get red. However, if you take it out in time, it would not itch and get red that much. This cause my skin to get more sensitive.

I started and continued using this, despite those effects, as it really takes out my hairs without pain and gets the job done fast. Compare to waxing, this would not miss out any hairs or pull my skin which can cause sagging as I grow older. Plus, it gets rid of those short, thin hairs fast and easy! Waxing takes a long time to take out all the hairs (most of the time didn’t even take out the small thin hairs) and the feeling of the leftover waxing on the leg is just urgh!

However, I would not repurchase it again as it is really causing my skin to get really sensitive and to itch often.

 

Kiko Nail Polish Remover

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I bought this in Europe without knowing anything about this brand just because I didn’t bring my nail remover. It is only after I research on it then I know the Gentle version is better well-known compare to this.

This does remove your nail polish well despite being acetone free. I still have problems with removing glitter with this but not as bad as other nail polish remover I have tried. It does not leave any nail polish colours on the nails or really dries out the cuticle or skin that some removers can do.

There is 1 main thing I have problems with this. The smell is just so strong! I am someone who does not have a really good nose and cannot really smell for nuts! Usually, I can smell a bit of most nail polish removers but this remover’s smell is strong! I can smell it almost immediately as I pour the product out.I was literally trying not to breathe through my nose. I am not sure whether is the fragrance or alcohol that I am smelling. So you would want to go to the store and smell it for yourselves.

I would not repurchase it as it is hard to get in my country and I would want to try the Gentle version if I can get my hands on this brand.

 

The Body Shop Shea Hand Cream

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Please don’t mind the bad photo. I can’t seem to find the photo that I wanted to post and this is all I had.

I got this as a Christmas present and I did enjoy using this. If you like those quick absorption kinds of hand cream, this is for you. It quickly absorbs into the hand but it does not give you the feeling that you didn’t put anything on your hand in the first place as much as some hand creams do. It still gives a bit of that hand cream residue if you know what I mean. It does not leave any greasiness on my skin after it is being absorbed, though.

I would not repurchase it as it is not moisturising enough for me. It did not make my hands softer at all and I realise I used this up pretty quickly compare to other hand creams! I had to apply this more often than usual just because I kept feeling that my hands are dry and was not moisturised enough. I don’t want to keep reapplying hand creams especially when the hand cream is expensive.


YAH!!!! The empties for the 1st half is over!! I cannot believe December is here and that means… CHRISTMAS!!!!!!!! I love Christmas so much! It is my favourite festival/celebration! Totally cannot wait for it! I have started shopping for Christmas already~ It is never too early right?

Alright, I shall end it here! Hope to see you soon!

Hugs! Muacks!

Lydia

Leave a Comment

