Review/Empty: COSRX Low pH Good Morning Gel Cleanser

UPDATE is at the bottom of the review!

img_1076

Happy New Year!!

Even though technically when I post this, it would not be 2017 yet but HAPPY NEW YEAR! I am so excited for 2017!!!

I cannot believe this is the last blog post I am going to post in 2016. I cannot really say time passed very fast for me this year as I felt this year was super long.

Anyway, a lot of things have been happening recently and it’s been a while since I did a blog post dedicated to reviewing 1 product. I miss doing this.

Let’s drive straight into it!

Brand

cosrx

Cosrx is a brand that I feel can be trusted. They provide affordable yet effective skincare products without all those “cheap fillers” and “extra good ingredients” to make the product look really effective that most companies tend to do. All the products that I have tried from them all gave good results.

This is the latest purchase that I got from this brand. Let’s see whether it can uphold their good reputation!

Product Description

A low pH level gel cleanser that is formulated with botanical skin-purifying ingredients, works softly to make skin supple and clear. Targeted especially for those who have sensitive skin and mainly to be used in morning.

pH Level

cosrx-sci

Cosrx promotes and markets this for having a 5.0~6.0 pH level. I have tested it. It has a 5.5 pH level by itself and 6.0-6.5 pH level with alkaline tap water.

For those of you who are new to low pH level cleansers or you have no idea why people are changing to low pH, I highly recommend you to change and start using them!

I can totally pretend and channel my inner scientist voice (I think I can…Maybe not. Hahaha!!) to explain why you should change but I wouldn’t. If not you would be seeing an essay here about it and that’s something I want to prevent! Hahaha!!

So here are the reasons why you should change to low pH level in summarised point forms!

  • Your skin is acid and not alkaline
  • High pH level products damage your skin barrier
  • Does not completely remove the good oil, moisture and nutrients from the skin
  • Gentle to the skin

 

Cost

S$11.10 from qoo10 (Not including shipping costs)

I am not earning anything from telling you this. I just simply want to tell you where and how much I got it for as I tend to research the lowest price possible. Without buying any fake product of course!

Ingredients

I don’t have a lot of things to say about the ingredients as this is a cleanser. The ingredient would not affect your skin as much as the other steps of the skin care routine. However, these are the few main things that you would want to know.

  • No Sodium Lauryl Sulfate (SLS)
  • No Sodium Laureate Sulfate (SLES)
  • Anti-inflammatory plant extracts
  • Astringent and moisturising ingredients
  • Mainly humectant ingredients
  • Tea Tree Oil (Acne-prone people would like this)

 

Performance

Packaging: I like the fact that it is a squeeze tube but there is something wrong with the packaging. The cleanser keeps leaking into the cap area. It’s either the opening hole is too big or I have a defect product. I feel like I have wasted a lot of product due to the leakage.

Cleanser:  It is a clear gel that bubbles up nicely but does not lather up like those alkaline cleansers. It is good that this bubbles up even without SLS and SLES in them. Especially for those who feel that cleansers need have that bubble/lather to feel clean. It is a good transition from alkaline to acid cleanser.

This goes well with the Clarisonic tool and I feel this is similar to Clarisonic Gentle Cleanser. The small bottle that came together with the Clarisonic machine as a set.

At first, I feel like this was only cleaning the surface of the skin and the top part of the pores. Not deep inside of the pores. It’s only when after some time, you realise it does clean inside the pores. It is just that you are used to those harsh cleansers that feel like it is deep cleaning inside the pores when it is just stripping the skin’s goodness. (E.g. Oil, moisture)

This does not leave any film or residue behind, dry out the skin or give any tightening sensation at all. It’s one of those trusty products that you can always count on even if you don’t use it often.

However, I don’t feel that this moisturises the skin (My Skin type: Dry skin). It might feel moisturising to oily or combination skin. Let me know down below if you find it moisturising or agree with me that it is not moisturising!!

Summary

This is just a simple affordable gentle cleanser that you can always count on. I think that this is great not only for those with sensitive skin but for all skin types. I only left a bit of product left in the bottle and I am missing it already. If only I didn’t buy that new cleanser that is waiting in my cardboard to try, I would definitely repurchase this!

However, I am really debating on repurchasing it despite having a brand new cleanser at home. That’s how much I like this product! This product is reaching the Holy Grail status for me. There but not right there yet.

I didn’t think I would like this product as much as I first tried it. This product grows on you without you realising it. You have been warned!

For those who want to know whether this can use this at night, YES! I like using this as a 2nd cleanser after the oil or balm cleanser. It really does take away the oiliness if your 1st cleanser does leave them behind. It makes you feel clean, refresh and free~ I say free because, after a whole day of makeup on the face, you can feel like a weight of it on your face. This lift that weight off that sometimes 1st cleansers don’t give.

PS: It is said that this can clean away makeup and sunscreen but I don’t really use it as a 1st cleanser. I don’t find that it is strong enough to completely remove it without pulling and rubbing my skin hard. Plus, I like my 1st cleanser to melts away the makeup and sunscreen quickly and gently.

However, I like to use this when I just have sunblock on. Not the waterproof or sweat proof once but those typically daily sunscreen.

cosrx-heart

Pros

  • Does not leave any residue or film behind
  • Cleanse the face gently
  • Does not dry out the skin
  • Does not strip the face of its natural oils/moisture
  • Does not irritated the skin
  • Leave skin smooth
  • Easy to use/ Fuss-free
  • Affordable
  • Great for all skin types including sensitive

Cons

  • Not moisturising
  • Product leak (For mine at least)

Ratings:4.5/5 (Took out the 0.5 for the non-moisturising factor and defect tube)

UPDATE: 4.8/5 (The new bottle that I bought did not leak on me. Thank God! So I presume I had a defect product!)

Repurchase: Yes. After I use and test this new cleanser.

UPDATE: I have repurchased it and currently using it now. Miss it too much!


I just want to say again that thank you for being patience with me and for sticking with me throughout this year despite the low amount of blog posts. I truly appreciate it!

Please continue to support me and share my blog with your friends or whoever will benefit from it! It will help a lot!  THANK YOU SO MUCH!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!! YEAH!!

Muacks

Lydia♥

Leave a Comment

