Review: RE:CIPE Slowganic Cleanser Green Tea

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Welcome back to another product review!

This is the new cleanser that I have been trying for the past few months and I just cannot decide on what I feel about it. I have so many mixed thoughts and feelings about it that I took this long to do a product review. I wanted to be sure of my opinions and thoughts about this product before posting it out.

So if you want to know why I took this long to do a product review and have so many thoughts about it; read on for more!

I did not know what to expect from this cleanser as I bought this cleanser literally because of the unique texture and low pH. I bought this product blindfolded! I had not much information about this product or reviews to read when I bought it.

Even after some time has passed, there were not many reviews about this product and I still could not find any solid information about it. All I knew are the claims the company made and how much natural ingredients are inside this. To me, claims made by the company are just claims. I don’t expect those claims to actually happen. Especially when you have this many claims in a product.

 

Product Description

It is a one-step hypoallergenic deep handmade cleanser that consists of 98% natural ingredients including 12 organic plant ingredients.

It effectively removes impurities and heavy makeup while protecting your skin’s natural moisture barrier due to the low pH. The cleanser is gentle enough even with those who have sensitive skin.

Not only that, it calms the skin, eliminated dead skin cells and other impurities, improve elasticity, and moisturizes your skin. All at the same time!

This cleanser has a very unique texture that feels and bouncy like a marshmallow when you press on it. If you cannot comprehend or imagine the texture, go and press a marshmallow down. It feels something similar to that but softer, airy and jiggly. I hope I explain it correctly. It is hard to explain the texture. You will only be able to understand it when you feel it for yourself. It is really quite unique.

(See! A lot of claims right? We shall see how many claims are true!)


Fun Fact: The grated green tea inside this cleanser is from South Korea itself. It does not make such a big difference for me. I just thought to let you know if you are wondering!


 

pH Level

pH 6 without water
pH 5.5 with tap water

Weird right? First time this happen to me.

 

Cost

S$19.80 for 100 grams from Qoo10
Not including shipping fee and I cannot remember if I have shipping fee or not.

I just check the same store/seller again, they are having a promotion now. The price is now S$18.80 with free shipping. I do not know when the promotion will end.
(If you want to know which store/seller I got it from, comment down below!)

PS: I am not earning anything from telling you this. I just simply want to tell you where and how much I got it for as I tend to research the lowest price possible. Without buying any fake product of course!

 

Ingredients

The ingredients are in Korean and I have no idea what it means. So I got the ingredient list from US memobox website.

 

Camellia Sinensis Leaf Water, Sodium Lauroyl Glutamate, Glycerin, Trehalose, Water, Betaine, Triethanolamine, Acrylate/ C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Green Tea Powder(6000 ppm), Origanum Majorana Leaf Oil, Lime Oil, Citrus Limon (Lemon) Peel Oil, Basil Oil, Orange Oil, Cananga Odorata Flower Oil, Pelargonium Graveolens Flower Oil, Green Tea Seed Oil, Evening Primrose Oil, Camellia Oil, Macadamia Integrifolia Seed Oil, Borago Officinalis Seed Oil, Brazil (Bertholetta Excelsa) Nut Oil, Sweet Almond Oil, Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil, Olive Oil, Sunflower Seed Oil, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Rose Mary Water, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Water, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Peel Oil, Aesculus Hippocastanum (Horse Chestnut) Seed Extract, Ammonium Lauryl Sulfate, PEG-6 Caprylic/Capric Glycerides, Ethylhexylglycerin, Carbomer, Alcohol, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Benzyl Alcohol, Dehydroacetic Acid

 

You can tell from one look that there are a lot of essential oils but no mineral oils. So for those who are sensitive or react badly to certain essential oils, you might want to check for yourself.

PS: There is no Sodium Lauryl Sulfate which is a plus!

 

Performance


Packaging: The cleanser is in an air tight glass jar that you usually see in homemade dessert stores and find in stores like Daiso. It really gives off a handmade vibe and it feels as if someone made this especially for you which is what the brand market this cleanser for. Thumb up for that!

However, I find the packaging is very troublesome and hassle to use. You have to pull the metal open, flip open the lid then take the spatula, scoop the product out, put the lid back on, put the metal back in then push it down to close the jar. That’s a lot of things to do! Not including the taking the cleanser out and in from the storage/cardboard.

You will find this package pain in the ass when you have overslept, when you just want to go to bed or when you are feeling lazy. For those who like quick skin care routine, you would not like this packaging.

The cleanser comes with a long white translucent spatula that makes it sanitarily which I like but I felt that it is kinda big which its hard to keep or put on top of the cleanser. It just keeps falling off the cleanser top even when you accidentally hit it gently. It is just long and big. Especially when my floor and storage space is white. It can be hard to spot/find the spatula after you drop it.

Cleanser: This feels creamy once you apply it on your damp face and it does lather up slightly once you work it in. But the funny thing is that it does not lather up or produce more bubbles when use with a Clarisonic which is quite rare. It actually decrease the amount of bubbles and lather on your skin. So for those who do not like the bubbles, you might like this.

However, for those who like the bubbles and lather, you just need to use slightly more product and make sure your face is really wet. It will bubble and lather even more if you work it on your hands first before putting it on your face.

When I first work it into my skin, it make some areas of my face to react and make it itch but now it does not do that anymore. I am not sure whether my skin got used to it over time or my skin was sensitive during that time period. However, it still “bite” into certain areas of the skin even until now.

There are small pieces of particles that you can see in the jar that most of them will go away after you work the cleanser. I am guessing those particles are green tea leaves and other natural plant ingredients but don’t quote my words on that. I can feel those particles exfoliate very slightly but not much until you can see or feel a difference in your skin. My skin texture did not improve nor my dead flaky skin go away.

This does not leave any film or any residue behind. I do not know if it is just me but this does make the skin feel moisturise on the surface but tight inside the skin! Which is weird seeing this is a low pH/acid cleanser and it just doesn’t make any logical sense!

This does clean and take away the impurities from the skin but not makeup. When you try to use this cleanser to take off makeup, I feel that it does not take all the makeup off completely and PLEASE do not use to take your eye makeup! It stings my eyes and irritated the skin in the eye area. Plus, it does not remove them completely. ): For normal cleaning, it is fine but not for taking off makeup. (As long you do not get inside the eye.)

When using it with a Clarisonic, it does take out waterproof sunblock completely. I would still suggest to use a makeup remover before cleansing just in case you missed out any areas. You would not want to take chances of getting clogged pores or having a breakout.Right?


Tip: You need to use enough cleanser if not the Clarisonic can get quite abrasive on your skin. It feels like the Clarisonic is scatching your skin without any cleanser on it.


Without using it with a Clarisonic, I feel that it does not completely remove the waterproof sunblock or maybe its just the Clarisonic psyching my brain. Hahaha!! Signs of Clarisonic addict. BEWARE!

It does take out non-waterproof sunblock completely and clean the skin even without using Clarisonic though. (:

 

Summary


By now, you can sort of guess that I do not like this cleanser and find that it does not suit my skin. However, I realise after I researching this product that this is meant for oily and acne-prone skin.

Therefore, I feel that this is a cleanser that only a small group of people would like or suited for. If you agree with any of these points, you might like this cleanser.

  • Have oily skin
  • Do not mind hassle/long routine
  • Do not get bored of fun skin care products easily
  • Do not have sensitive skin
  • Do not wear thick makeup on a daily basis

To be honest, I am a lazy person and I do not really like to shower especially when I come back home from work. There I said it! BUT before you start judging! I do shower every day at work and I actually shower more than once a day (most days of the week) due to my job. It might also be due to my job that I just find showering troublesome and a burden. Yes, it makes you feel clean, refresh and rejuvenated. It is important to do it every day but I just simple want to get it done and over with! Is it just me? I used to love long showers until my mum would scold me but recently I prefer my showers to be fast.

Going back to the main point, when I do wash my face when I shower(Most of the time). I like it to be hassle free and simple. Therefore, I do not like the cleanser package.

Another main thing that I do not like it is the dehydrate feeling and the dryness that I get after washing even if my skin was feeling normal before washing. Despite the moisturising effect on the skin’s surface. I cannot wrap my mind around it especially when this is a low pH cleanser and there is a slight moisturising effect at the same time.I cannot see any logical explanation for this. If anyone knows, please let me know!!

To put it simply, despite the natural hypoallergenic ingredient, I did not like the cleanser and I do not enjoy using it. Let alone want to repurchase it.

It might be just the Green Tea version so you might want to try another version since this is for oily and acne-prone skin. However, I still would not want to repurchase it because of the packaging.

 

Pros

  • Unique texture
  • Fun and interesting to use
  • Handmade Product
  • Hypoallergenic
  • 98% Natural Ingredients
  • No Mineral Oil
  • No Sodium Lauryl Sulfate
  • Remove non-waterproof sunblock
  • Clean and remove impurities
  • Does not break me out
  • Suit for oily skin

Cons

  • Irritates and “bites’ the skin
  • Does not suit sensitive or dry skin
  • Does not exfoliate or get rid of flaky skin
  • Does not remove makeup completely
  • Does not remove waterproof sunblock
  • Does not increase skin elasticity
  • Does not calm the skin down
  • Stings the eye
  • Dehydrated the skin
  • Troublesome and hassle to use
  • Skin texture does not improve
  • Has a lot of essential oils that can cause breakout or bad reaction

Ratings: 2.5/5
Repurchase: No

Leave a Comment

