Introduction to The Ordinary Skin Care Brand (Under DECIEM company)

Welcome back!

Today I am dedicating a post on introducing The Ordinary brand.

ALSO!

I have added some tips on how to create a routine and stick to it!!

(Hint: They at the bottom of the post!)

Side Note Edit: Most of you; myself included; thinks that The Ordinary products can be quite complicated, difficult, too advance or too scientific. I just realize that The Ordinary line has one of the most basic lines out there that does not have any fancy or advanced technologies. The technologies used have been inside skin care industry for years. We are just not used to seeing the active ingredients as the name of the products(Besides “Buffet” which is an exception) or really know what it does to our skin. We kind of based the capability of the product based on the marketing claims. Once I put the name of the product aside, understand the ingredient itself, it was so much easier! Not only that, it help me understand other products better and choose which product suits me better! So just stick with me! Go through this skin care journey with me and we will get through this together!

If you do not want to know and read about this, you can jump straight to the different posts on the breakdown, 1st impressions of the products I bought! It will help you understand not only about products but also the ingredients inside it!  (Hopefully!)

Here are the links to the The Ordinary products that I bought, did my 1st impressions and breakdown:

*Buffet* -> Click Me!

Matrixyl* 10% + HA -> Coming soon

Alpha Arbutin 2% + HA -> Coming soon

Caffeine Solution 5% + EGCG -> Coming soon

Ascorbyl Glucoside Solution 12% -> Coming soon

Vitamin C Suspension 23% + HA Spheres 2% -> Coming soon

Azelaic Acid Suspension 10% -> Coming soon

I will not be explaining all of their products under their brand but only for the products that I bought. I am planning on buying more products from them in the future. When that comes, I will explain those products too. If I do buy all of their products; which I am very tempted too; I will combine them into a blog post to make things easier for you.

 If you want to know more about this new brand that I am currently in love with, read on for more!

Side Note: Just to let you know, I change the structure of these blog posts. So instead of 2 long posts;1 on the Haul and another on the 1st Impressions; I decided to put it together but it will only be about 1 product. This way, you have more posts to read and would not be overwhelmed by the long posts. So to do that, I need to have another post on the introduction of the brand. (Which is this post) Especially for this brand where it can get complicated.

 

The Breakdown

The Ordinary can be overwhelming and confusing to someone new to the scientific world of skin care and technology, or even new to skin care in general. This company’s product information can overload and stress you out. There are so many technical names and information that you get lost in the maze.

Even for someone like me who loves and read on skincare. I got so lost! I did not know how to put these products into my routine and what some of these products are supposed to do.

After doing some research, I got it and decided to make this information easier for you to understand. I will be talking about

  • Where to put these into your routine for both Western only and Western-Korean
  • What is the main purpose or effect of the different products
  • Which products and ingredients cannot be put together
  • Which products or ingredients goes well together
  • And other more information

The links that I give you previously is to answer these questions and the breakdown of the product. I put it such a way that if you are only interested in a certain product you can just go straight to that post. Without needing to read or care about the other product. You can scroll up once you read finish this post!

Let’s talk about DECIEM that The Ordinary is under.

 

DECIEM Company

They are a company that focuses on good advanced functional products.They are the kind of company that focuses and invest in advancing their products itself. Mainly the formulas and the technology behind it. So you know that you are paying for the product itself and not for the marketing and brand. You know what I mean.

They based themselves as a company that does what others don’t do and are changing the industry by that principle. That is one of the reasons why The Ordinary is making a big fuss in the industry when it first launched.

Also, they pride themselves in being…

They pride themselves in being…
Target Audience
All DECIEM products are FREE of…
Authentic Educated Parabens
Different Curious Sulphates
Functionally Intelligent Mineral Oils
Beauty People who appreciate their dedication to their quality Methylchloroisothiazolinone
Sensibly Priced   Methylisothiazolinone
Animal Oils
    Benzalkonium Chloride
    Coal Tar Dyes
    Formaldehyde
    Mercury
    Oxybenzone

I think that explains a lot of things. Like the packaging, the website and how they products’ are named.

Side Note: ALL DECIEM product are not tested on animals or pay others to do so.

 

The Ordinary

On their website, they state that

“The Ordinary is an evolving collection of treatments offering familiar, effective clinical technologies positioned to raise pricing and communication integrity in skincare. The brand was created to celebrate integrity in its most humble and true form. Its offering is pioneering, not in the familiar technologies it uses, but in its honesty and integrity. The Ordinary is born to disallow commodity to be disguised as ingenuity. The Ordinary is “Clinical formulations with integrity”.”

In my own layman terms:

The Ordinary are clinically formulated products in their most basis(“True”) form that has highly active ingredients that other brands give but at a lower price.

Not sure whether am I summarizing it correctly but you get my point.

The Ordinary mainly put most of the product information on the website and not on the product itself. So you have to put in an effort to actually learn about the science and ingredients behind that product and how to use it. Which leads to their target audience of being curious, educated and intelligent.

The Ordinary is the newest brand and the 3rd range of skin care products from DECIEM.

The Ordinary did an amazing job of explaining and summarizing the products in their website. They also gave a regimen guide on how to combine different products together into a routine.

 

Tips on how to create and follow the routine

I create this tips based on you having the products.

  1. Go to the different product information and regimen guide page.
  2. Create a routine based on what you are targeting. For example, pigmentation issues or anti-aging
  3. Sequence the product based on their pH and formulations
    • Example: Water formulations before oil and cream formulations
    • Example: Lower pH applies first
  4. If you have any highly active products like Retinoid 1% or Vitamin C Suspension; you need to keep them apart and create a separate routine for them each.
    • Create so that the routine revolve around them.
    • They are the main star and the rest of the products are supporting them
  5. Do your research 
    • Example: Knowing which product does not belong or cannot be in the same routine
    • I will explain further more on the different products that I bought so you can save the time and trouble on researching them! (: Links are at the top of the post!
  6. Write out your routine/routines on a paper and pin it up on your vanity
  7. Print out or screenshot the product information.
    • So you can always refer back to it and not need to keep going back to the website to check
  8. Write down the pH level of the different product on the bottle
    • This is my favorite tip!!
    • If you want to mix your routine up a little, you would know which product goes first. Apply the lower pH level product first.

PS: If The Ordinary or DECIEM are reading this, let me know if I am interpreting or say anything incorrectly! Thank you!


So that’s it! It is a pretty short basic introduction to the brand. All photo and information are to be credited to DECIEM and The Ordinary.

If you want more information about DECIEM as a company, click here.

If you want more information about The Ordinary the brand, click here.

I bought the The Ordinary products from here.

Disclaimer: I do not earn anything from you clicking the links or buying from them. I just want to help you out and make things easier for you.

Please click the follow button or subscribe to know when a new blog post it out. If you have interested this brand, the next few posts would be about the products I bought, the breakdown and my 1st impression on them! So keep a look out for them!

As always, thank you for reading and see you next time!

♥Lydia

5 thoughts on “Introduction to The Ordinary Skin Care Brand (Under DECIEM company)

  1. There are some interesting points in time in this article but I dont know if I see all of them center to heart. There is some validity but I will take hold opinion until I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want more! Added to FeedBurner as well

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Ordinary Haul, Breakdown and 1st Impression: *Buffet* – Uniquelykek

  3. Pingback: The Ordinary Haul, Breakdown and 1st Impression: Matrixyl* 10% + HA | uniquelykek

  4. Pingback: Outfits of the Month: March & April | uniquelykek

  5. Pingback: The Ordinary Haul, Breakdown and 1st Impression: *Buffet* | uniquelykek

Leave a Comment

